RSS

Post Poems Publicly: National Poetry Month is Coming

28 Mar

That is to say, even more publicly than on a blog.

Hello. An extra posting, as I answer Joseph Harker’s Reverie #12 which gives the following instructions: Write a poem, necessarily short-ish, on the topic of the ephemerality of things we don’t normally think of as ephemeral; write the poem on something ephemeral, such as a paper napkin, a playing card, a postcard…; place your poem somewhere in the world; photograph it and post the photograph on your blog. I think that’s all, but visit Joseph’s blog naming constellations to read the prompt in its entirety.

I have just returned from placing mine and I had more darned fun — no, I don’t get out much. The weather is gorgeous, the perfect temperature for walking; I armed myself with tape and a stapler, not having any idea what I would stray across. I have two poems, each of which I wrote on a postcard — my handwriting, oh woe. It has not changed since sixth grade.

 

 

I decided to walk down to our local Starbucks and see if there were someplace, and maybe have a cup of coffee. They had a great bulletin board with strong magnets, so up the poem went. When I bought my coffee, white chocolate mocha, the cashier asked what I was up to, so I told him what we were doing. He paused, cogitated and asked: ‘So, can I do that? Post a poem? I like poetry’. I thought: Yes! Joseph, I figure that’s a poem found because of modeling good practice πŸ™‚

 

 

 

I continued wending my way towards Publix to pick up a loaf of bread, having been charmed by ViV’s poem amongst the bananas. On my way I saw some large stone pots filled with flowers. My second poem now resides there.

Clicking on the photos will bring them to a readable size.

We should agree to do this every now and then. Leaving poems around is a high. If you have not done this prompt yet, go! What’s that? I get out once a week to pick up groceries.

See you tomorrow everyone.

 
23 Comments

Posted by on 28/03/2012 in exercises, poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

23 responses to “Post Poems Publicly: National Poetry Month is Coming

  1. vivinfrance

    28/03/2012 at 12:45 pm

    I like where you put yours, and the poems, of course – the repetition of mayfly and the twist on the latin tag are brilliant.. It never occurred to me to trail National Poetry Month. I’ll do that next time.

     
  2. margo roby

    28/03/2012 at 12:47 pm

    Thank you, ViV. I was inspired by you to go further afield than the lobby of the flats. The only reason I thought to tag National Poetry Month is that I was focused on it for the Great Book Giveaway, but it worked out well.

     
  3. Julie Catherine

    28/03/2012 at 1:01 pm

    Margo, this is such an awesome idea for National Poetry Month that I’ve tweeted your post and shared it on Facebook! I’m definitely going to do this! ~ Julie πŸ™‚

     
    • margo roby

      28/03/2012 at 1:07 pm

      Very cool, Julie. Thank you immensely!
      πŸ™‚

       
  4. markwindham

    28/03/2012 at 4:02 pm

    Teacher’s Pet! I am sure that is envy and jealousy coming out. πŸ˜‰ This is actually very cool. Like them both. Next up, recording them.

     
    • margo roby

      29/03/2012 at 9:50 am

      And about damn time πŸ™‚ [the teacher’s pet, not the recording]

      I’m going to mention the recording site in today’s post.

       
  5. Joseph Harker

    28/03/2012 at 4:54 pm

    Love it! And taking it a step further by starting discussion about it… having been one of those Starbucks cashiers, I can tell you that moments like that make an otherwise monotonous existence a little more worth it. πŸ˜‰ The poems themselves: also groovy.

     
  6. whimsygizmo

    28/03/2012 at 5:05 pm

    Love it, Margo! You inspired me to finally tackle this today! Got mine posted, and push pinned, and up! πŸ™‚ Thank you!

     
    • margo roby

      29/03/2012 at 7:29 am

      de! How lovely. I have missed seeing you around. You are welcome. It was fun, wasn’t it?

       
  7. Hannah Gosselin

    28/03/2012 at 9:01 pm

    This is an excellent idea! Great ones, Margo. πŸ™‚ Your hand writing isn’t bad, I’m a lefty soooo…we’ll leave it at that but on the other hand I love the likening to the mayfly!

     
    • margo roby

      29/03/2012 at 7:30 am

      Laughing, Hannah. It’s only not bad because I print. Never learned cursive.

       
      • Hannah Gosselin

        29/03/2012 at 9:50 am

        Sadly, (or not), penmanship, the old-school cursive style, is being left in the dust of yesterday in the academic world so really your “in” with the new times!

        It’s a pretty form if you can do it right, (I can not), but actually I feel that a lot of time gets wasted on teaching this that could be spent outdoors learning hands-on science…bugs, geology etc., etc.

        Maybe the only benefit of cursive would be the artistic opening that it provides the mind with, perhaps, creating those sort of lines might make way for a more creative response.

        Wow, tangent there! Sorry, Margo, lol! πŸ™‚

         
        • margo roby

          29/03/2012 at 9:54 am

          I always told my students that with language there is no such thing as tangents, or getting off topic. After all, it all comes back to how we use words.

           
          • Hannah Gosselin

            29/03/2012 at 9:43 pm

            I like your line of thinking, Margo, straying often does cycle back around, all things connected. πŸ™‚

             
            • margo roby

              30/03/2012 at 7:52 am

              And we English teachers have as strong a belief in the cyclic nature of everything as scientists and historians do. Hmm. That’s interesting. If so many groups believe this, why don’t people in general consider it?

               
              • Hannah Gosselin

                30/03/2012 at 10:35 am

                It’s the cycling around that connects us, the unspoken truth beneath all of the similarities, even in religion, that if we peeled away the differences we’d find we’re all so much the very same. A core of spiraling love. πŸ™‚

                 
                • margo roby

                  30/03/2012 at 10:49 am

                  I agree, as does all of nature. We’re not as smart as we think πŸ™‚

                   
                • Hannah Gosselin

                  30/03/2012 at 11:06 am

                  I love that, Margo, so true!! πŸ™‚

                   
  8. Misky

    29/03/2012 at 4:00 am

    Is your ink waterproof? Mine wasn’t. Live and learn, and write again. πŸ˜€

     
    • margo roby

      29/03/2012 at 7:35 am

      Ah… I hadn’t thought about that, Misky. Talk about ephemeral. I shall have to wander down and look at my outside poem.

       
  9. wordsandthoughtspjs

    29/03/2012 at 11:25 pm

    Oh, Margo, this is marvelous. I think I will join in on this as well.

    Pamela

     
    • margo roby

      30/03/2012 at 7:48 am

      I will look forward to seeing your photograph, Pamela. It’s good to see you!

       

Join the discussion and feel free to critique, or suggest an idea for any poem I post.