RSS

Freeday Freeforall

01 Jun

8:14 a.m. — Atlanta

Whoa! It’s after eight and I am just starting. Must be summer. Do you feel the stirrings? Those from the southern spheres, are you blissfully reveling in cold? Teachers, congratulations. Some of you are done; some are so close. One more school year down. Let’s see what we have for you to play with this weekend.

We start with Donna and The Poetry Mixtape, where she introduces us to a poem by Aimee Nezhukumatahil, one of her favourites. Head over to read the poem and Donna’s suggestions for our own poems.

Joseph Harker gives us Reverie Twenty-one: charm bracelet. Another lovely title, and a great analogy to the Pandora bracelets, if you have seen the ad. If you have never written fragments [one possibility], it can be liberating. More playtime, at Joseph’s. Go on over and read the prompt.

Over at Adele’s, The Music In It: Adele Kenny’s Poetry Blog we are focusing on… well, go see. Talk about a serendipitous gathering of the forces over this last few days. Clearly, this topic is meant to be. Adele’s prompts are always more than the sum of their parts. To read all the possibilities, visit.

Do you lead, or follow, or a bit of both? Visit Poetic Bloomings to read what our hosts say and to read their poems in response to the prompt. Do not miss the interview with our [if I may] ViV.

Have you whirled? At The Sunday Whirl, Brenda and The Whirl give us our wordle list from me! Visit to see the wordle and to read what others have done.

Carry On Tuesday gives us the title and first line of one of The Beatles‘ most memorable songs. Head over to read the line and for a link to hear the song. I am playing it now and may be distracted for a few moments.

It’s that time: Limerick-off Mondays. Go to Mad Kane’s Humor Blog for a lot more besides. If she ever runs out of topics I shall go into mourning. She calls it a humour blog for a reason. Go for the laugh. It’s healthy. It doesn’t much matter if you don’t want to write a limerick; reading them brightens a day. Fact.

I don’t know how I missed this painting when we were focusing on Hopper. Visit Magpie Tales for our image prompt. We are given a Hopper that looks like something out of a British country murder mystery. Head over to see what we have.

Shawna, over at rosemary mint, has her word list up. She has taken her list from the introduction to Sylvia Plath’s Letters Home. Shawna also gives us some excerpts from the introduction, which is written by Plath’s mother. Visit!

Poetry Jam provides us with a prompt from Dani who asks us to focus on a few genres of painting. Along with the ideas she gives us for writing a poem, look at what Dani says about the styles. You might want to match your content to the form, so the form of your poem is the form of the painting.

For you alliterationists out there, visit ABC Wednesday. The introduction of this week’s letter reminds us we are almost at the alphabet’s end [So soon? Again? It has been 26 weeks? Really?]: ‘TALKING of teamwork – would YOU like to be involved with ABC Wednesday? Only a few more weeks to go before we reach ANOTHER Round. How about YOU writing an introduction, or becoming part of the TEAM?‘ Head over to take on T.

The three words this week for Three Word Wednesday are error, jingle, and vindicate. Often, the challenge is to not use the words in an obvious way. You might try writing down the first thoughts that come into your head as you read these words, before you go on to visit the site for their definitions. They have a particularly good source and I often get ideas from the definitions rather than the given words.

Over at imaginary garden with real toads we have Kerry’s Wednesday Challenge ~ Steampunk. I adore all things Steampunk. If it weren’t such expensive stuff, I would request a permanent Steampunk present on my birthday, and at Christmas, from my husband. Kerry gives us an idea of the style of language for this genre. You want to have fun? Write  your Steampunk poem in Steampunk language. Check the rest of the week too. Suzi Quatro is wandering around. I may never leave the garden. Go play with the toads.

We Write Poems gives us a prompt that tells us to Face up to it! To discover what we are facing, head over to read the rest.

At Poets United, we are asked to consider the concept of possibilities. For the rest of the prompt, head over. The images, as usual, are lovely.

At dVerse’s FormForAll we have a post discussing free verse, something many think of as a style, rather than a form. Read the essay. As always, explore the pub while you are there. They offer so much on their menu. You might find several of us propping up the bar. They make us feel so welcome.

Patricia K. Lichen, Author, in her Weekend Haiku & Limericks gives us several options to use as resources. An interesting possibility, she suggests, is to look at the comments and pull a poem from them. Visit for the possibilities and because it’s fun to wander through the site.

Flash fiction fans: I’m going to give you the link to the general site of Flashy Fiction, rather than always giving you Friday, as you might come to the site on a different day, thus be offered a different image. Pot luck. Remember that we often get a possible direction along with the image.

The final posting is for Trifecta, I have given you the link to the Instructions page. They have an interesting shtick. Visit and find out what.

If you have questions, ask. If you write in response to any of these, the people whose blogs you visit would love to read your responses. So, post!

Remember: If you have a topic you want me to discuss, tell me. I’ll take on just about anything and if it’s beyond me, I’ll find sources. What niggles? What have you wanted to ask, or know? If you have an announcement you want posted, send it along for Your Serendipity @ Thursday Thoughts. While Thoughts is going down for the summer, I would love to build for Autumn. What do you have for me?

I shall see you next Tuesday for our summer prompt list; and next Friday for the roundup.

Happy writing, everyone.

 
19 Comments

Posted by on 01/06/2012 in exercises, poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

19 responses to “Freeday Freeforall

  1. whimsygizmo

    01/06/2012 at 10:00 am

    Ooooo! I’m gonna try Adele’s sometime this week. Thanks for the new-to-me prompt site! 🙂

     
    • margo roby

      01/06/2012 at 10:02 am

      de, Adele’s site is a keeper. She writes wonderful prompts, gives us poems to go read, and sounds friendly!

       
  2. carolisle

    01/06/2012 at 12:47 pm

    So many prompts so little time! (I think that should be a Tshirt) but really thanks I have been wondering where they all came from.

     
    • margo roby

      01/06/2012 at 2:58 pm

      Carolisle, I know what you mean. I collect the prompts from a couple of sites, for some day. The only one I post for regularly is The Sunday Whirl.

       
  3. Veronica Roth

    01/06/2012 at 8:34 pm

    Hey Limericks! That sounds like fun. And magpie tales; I’m hopelessly addicted to Poirot, Miss Marple, Foyels War etc. Hey, Sylvia Plath! I did a whole thesis dissertation in a third yr uni English class on Plath. Def have to check that out. And my work has been described as steampunk on Media Tala so def have to go there. Oh god…then there’s flashy fiction and the rest of the temptations. This is a great round-up but you’re killing me…in a nice way. Thursday thought for autumn idea: People, like Nick Bantock, (and me) who mix word and image equally. Those of us who don’t limit to one discipline. How can multiple disciplines be accepted without labels, pigeonholes and a certain amount of looking down on by the two pure, white ivory towers of culture.

     
    • margo roby

      02/06/2012 at 9:37 am

      Veronica, love, love, love your stream of consciousness. You do realise this changes my entire image of you, yes?

      I’ll note your idea for Thursday’s posts. Thank you for that. If you want to add to what you say, anytime between now and then, ship it along. I’ll do some research and we’ll have a post!

      Thanks for the link!

       
  4. rosemary mint

    01/06/2012 at 10:43 pm

    Love the poem (and prompt) referenced at The Poetry Mixtape. And I had so much fun writing my first steampunk poem for Real Toads this week. I’ve also been jammin’ to Suzi Quatro all day!

    Thanks for the mention of my Monday Melting word-list prompt. Check back at the end of the week too; I often offer a Midweek Melting on Thursday or Friday as well, especially if someone like De asks nicely. 🙂

     
    • margo roby

      02/06/2012 at 10:13 am

      Wow! You must have made someone upset somewhere, Shawna! It seems no matter how many times I unspam you, that’s where they send you. By any chance, are you techie enough to know if there is a way to take care of that?

      I lost the comment you wrote erotically instead of erratically [and I wonder why you are thrown into spam :-)]because I didn’t notice what it was in response to. This time I noted carefully where the comment would leap to.

      This was a particularly fun week to play, wasn’t it!

       
      • rosemary mint

        08/06/2012 at 1:36 am

        It happens to me all over the place! The filter doesn’t like my e-mail address or something. I haven’t a clue how to fix it. Sorry to be such a bother.

        I wanted to read your contribution to the Sunday Whirl, but it is password protected. So I’m unable to access it.

         
        • margo roby

          08/06/2012 at 7:29 am

          Not a bother, Shawna. I just hate to think of you sitting over in spam, unanswered, lonely, languishing… 😉

          The password for the protected poem is: enter

           
  5. Veronica Roth

    01/06/2012 at 11:24 pm

    Linked to you Margo and friday freeforall on vr.com

     
  6. Sabra Bowers

    02/06/2012 at 11:03 am

    Wow! Wonderful resource. I’ll be a frequent visitor.

     
    • margo roby

      02/06/2012 at 11:46 am

      Hello, Sabra. You will always be welcome!

       
  7. Madeleine Begun Kane

    02/06/2012 at 2:35 pm

    Thanks so much as always for linking my LImerick-Offs! And don’t worry — I have lots of topics stored up. 🙂

     
    • margo roby

      02/06/2012 at 3:04 pm

      I am so glad, Madeleine. Sackcloth and ashes sound so uncomfortable 🙂

       
  8. vivinfrance

    03/06/2012 at 1:46 am

    Margo, how do I get a password to see your Sunday Whirl poem?

     

Join the discussion and feel free to critique, or suggest an idea for any poem I post.