RSS

Still Trying Those Tryouts: It’s Tuesday

10 Jul

8:58 a.m. — Walnut Creek

Hello, all. We are playing with diamantes today… Wow! It’s dangerous to get distracted by another tab. I forgot I was writing this. Ahem! Diamantes, but I want you to take your diamantes another step, or two. Think of the diamante as a diamond in the rough, and your final poem as polished, even if it no longer looks like a diamond.

I have a template and then I shall go through the terms, and then I shall give you an example. First, you need to collect some nouns and come up with their opposites.You can use complete opposites: fire and ice, mountain and valley, cat and dog; or, you can work with an evolution: kitten and cat, but that’s not quite as easy. An interesting possibility is to place people at either end. A friend of mine wrote a diamante where she placed me and herself at opposites. It might be fun to place historical figures against each other…

A Seven-Line Diamante

_______________
(subject noun)

_______________     _______________
(adjectives)

_______________     _______________     _______________
(participles)

_______________     _______________     _______________     _______________
(nouns related to the subject which begin to shift meaning)

_______________     _______________     _______________
(participles indicating change toward a new subject)

_______________     _______________
(adjectives continuing the idea of change)

_______________
(noun, opposite of subject)

Line 1:         Noun, the opposite of Line 7                                     noun: a person, place, or thing
Line 2:         2 adjectives describing the noun in Line 1                  adjective: word that describes a noun
Line 3:         3 verbs ending in –ing related to Line 1                       verb: action word + ing = gerund
Line 4:         2 nouns about Line 1 and 2 nouns about Line 7          begin shift towards end noun
Line 5:         3 verbs ending in –ing related to Line 7
Line 6:         2 adjectives describing Line 7
Line 7:         Noun, the opposite of Line 1

Example:

moon
chaste untouched
waxing waning spinning
awake asleep asleep awake
blazing renewing burning
fiery untouchable
sun

I know, my middle line of nouns are suspect, but, it works.

Possibilities after playing with original:

Moon Sun
chaste    burning
untouched    untouchable
waxing the skies    renewing life
with waning night    from fiery ashes
spinning lives    blazing phoenix
a sleeping    a waking
a waking…    a sleeping…
blazing phoenix    spinning lives
from fiery ashes    with waning night
renewing life    waxing the skies
untouchable    untouched
burning    chaste
Sun     Moon

Once you start evolving the poem, all bets are off as far as the parts of speech. Take the poem where it wants to go. It does not have to be even recognisably from the diamante. If you do the step further, post both your diamante and the evolved poem. Otherwise we shall enjoy your diamante[s]. New diamantes, yes? Not last year’s. Umhm, I know what you were thinking those who were here. WordPress people, there is a centre align icon amongst the other icons; Blogger people, I am not sure about formatting for you.

Go forth and collect pairs and play. I will see you Friday for the Freeforall; and, Tuesday for the next topic, which I believe is wintry in nature.

Happy writing, all.

 
44 Comments

Posted by on 10/07/2012 in exercises, poetry, writing

 

Tags: ,

44 responses to “Still Trying Those Tryouts: It’s Tuesday

  1. wordsandthoughtspjs

    10/07/2012 at 1:42 pm

    Hi Margo, I love diamantes! I think I shall try and write one. Now, I am off to collect some nouns. Have a good day!

    Pamela

     
    • margo roby

      10/07/2012 at 2:30 pm

      Pamela, I have a great image of you walking around gathering up nouns. Can’t wait to see the result. I hope you are staying cooler than us in the US!

      margo

       
      • wordsandthoughtspjs

        11/07/2012 at 2:58 pm

        We are heading into our cool season. I suppose you could call it autumn. We don’t get the leaves changing is all. Last night it was in the low 50’s, you have to love it.

         
        • margo roby

          11/07/2012 at 4:58 pm

          Alright, Pamela, I shall live vicariously through you, as we sit at 94.

          margo

           
  2. Hannah Gosselin

    10/07/2012 at 4:43 pm

    Wow!! At a glimpse…intense and a welcomed challenge..thanks for remembering your “other,” tab! 😉 I’ll have to give this a try! After the wee distractors go to bed. 🙂

     
    • Hannah Gosselin

      10/07/2012 at 7:29 pm

      Your examples are gorgeous by the way, Margo…smiles to you!

       
      • margo roby

        10/07/2012 at 8:01 pm

        Thank you, Hannah. You don’t want to know how long those took!

         
        • Hannah Gosselin

          10/07/2012 at 8:15 pm

          I’m catching an idea of how long as we speak…you’re not kidding!! 🙂

           
    • margo roby

      10/07/2012 at 7:58 pm

      Ah! I’d never forget y’all 😉 Diamantes can be a challenge if you really work with them and then the result is so satisfying. Distractors… oh, right, children. I’m sorry. I couldn’t resist. I smacked my hand for you.

       
  3. wordsandthoughtspjs

    11/07/2012 at 12:43 am

    Hi Margo, I finally came up with something, since lately, I have been thinking about screen-doors. Thanks for being here.

    Pamela

    “To Release”

     
    • margo roby

      11/07/2012 at 2:14 pm

      Intriguing, Pamela. I’m coming over, now.

      margo

       
  4. The Happy Amateur

    11/07/2012 at 6:51 am

     
  5. Misky

    11/07/2012 at 7:21 am

    Good afternoon. Here’s my questionable attempt. http://miskmask.wordpress.com/2012/07/11/poetic-form-diamante-black-and-white/

    ~M.

     
    • margo roby

      11/07/2012 at 2:15 pm

      Questionable? We’ll see, Misk. I’m heading that way.

       
  6. purplepeninportland

    11/07/2012 at 3:17 pm

    Well, I took a stab at it. Not sure I did it correctly. http://purplepeninportland.wordpress.com/a-diamante

     
    • margo roby

      11/07/2012 at 4:59 pm

      What did I say about there is no wrong, hmmm? I’m heading over, Sara.

       
  7. vivinfrance

    11/07/2012 at 5:48 pm

    Here is my first attempt – a bit simplistic, so I shall probably have another go some time.

    Diamante

     
    • margo roby

      11/07/2012 at 6:06 pm

      I’m coming over. You know I’m happy to have repeats!

       
  8. pmwanken

    11/07/2012 at 8:14 pm

    I’ve been trying to do this for two days and I haven’t had much success. Yet. I’ll keep trying. 🙂

     
  9. JulesPaige

    11/07/2012 at 9:36 pm

    You did it again…twisted my arm to try something new. I’ll have to come back tomorrow to read…I always like to write before reading so I’m not influenced…Please enjoy:

    http://julesgemsandstuff.blogspot.com/2012/07/wg-tt-daimante-slick-slides-plus.html

     
    • margo roby

      11/07/2012 at 9:56 pm

      Jules, that’s my nefarious plan!

       
  10. The Happy Amateur

    11/07/2012 at 11:01 pm

    Margo, I never said that I enjoyed your diamantes very much. So balanced, serene; I think they have a healing quality about them.

     
    • margo roby

      12/07/2012 at 11:50 am

      Sasha, thank you so much. I appreciate the comment.

       
  11. JulesPaige

    12/07/2012 at 7:19 pm

    Margo…
    The moon and the sun, such opposites as they are – sometimes share the sky…both renewing in different ways. Very peaceful.

    Thanks for your visit…always a pleasure to make you smile.

     
  12. barbara_

    12/07/2012 at 8:46 pm

     
    • margo roby

      12/07/2012 at 9:20 pm

      That’s okay, Barbara 🙂 I’m on my way.

       
  13. Pamela Smyk Cleary

    13/07/2012 at 3:06 pm

    The diamante was lovely, but the flexibility and transformation of the finished product — just beautiful, Margo!

     
    • margo roby

      13/07/2012 at 3:24 pm

      Pamela, Thank you so much. I loved the discoveries that occurred during the process.

       
  14. Veronica Roth

    14/07/2012 at 3:24 am

    ugg…that was hard won! Pleased I tried it though. You know all the years and years…and years of poetry and creative writing classes I don’t think I ever wrote a diamante poem. Thanks for the inspiration, not pushing it further though. 🙂

     
    • margo roby

      14/07/2012 at 12:34 pm

      Veronica, I suspect the reason you didn’t come across one, is that a good one is hard to do, but many creative writing teachers seem to think it too easy, or they don’t know the parts of speech anymore and that throws them off.

      I’m glad you tried it.

      Of course it’s all about you… and chocolate cake 🙂 Happy Birthday.

       

Join the discussion and feel free to critique, or suggest an idea for any poem I post.