RSS

Your Serendipity @ Thursday Thoughts

24 Jan

7:52 a.m. — Atlanta

listening to Mumford & Sons — Google Play has their album Babel on sale for $3.99!

Well, I had a topic. Hello, all. I did. I had a topic, but when I looked for my notes, yesterday, they were nowhere to be seen. I saw them only a few days ago. They are in a finite item: my Thursday Thoughts notebook. Now they aren’t. That means a little tap dancing, and that would be why ViV’s suggestion of ‘Your Serendipity,’ as part of the title, is apt.

We’re going to pull from the grab bag, which means we might find things a couple of years old. Ignore dates; I will check that everything and everyone is still around, if needed.

1] We start with a link to an article Risk & Point of View, by Chicks Dig Poetry. This is a topic we all have some interest in. Whether that’s you, or not, the article is well-written and presented. The author states ‘But I think point of view is undervalued as a determinant of tension. The POV you choose helps shape the risks your poem can take‘. Sounds like you should read it, doesn’t it? Go on over.

2] Next, we have a link for the enjoyment of your ear and eye, 10 spoken word performances, folded like lyrical origami gathered by TED talks. There’s quite a variety, but aside from enjoyment, I find these performances helpful to me for how they play with the sound of words, and the repetition of sounds. It doesn’t even matter whether I like, or don’t like, a performance. I can still learn something about writing poetry.

3] A visit to our regular, The Rag Tree, is third. The premise of his article is that ‘Language in many respects is identity, the way that we think; it defines us in the world. And speaking a language is power, the ability to communicate, to become involved in community‘. He gives two more reasons for learning a new language, but the bonus is his links to a couple of Scottish Gaelic sites. I found myself over at the BBC one, dutifully repeating phrases and feeling delighted. Gaelic is a language that has baffled me and I don’t much like baffled. Now I can learn some rudiments.

4] The fourth article, found on the site Write to Done, is an elucidation of how writers can use Google+ to their benefit. The author states, ‘In this post, I’ll be outlining the top tactics for writers to use Google+ to brand themselves, reach their target audience, and create an author platform‘. I can hear people rearing back. Trust me here. Under each business-like heading I found things that apply to groups and individuals of all kinds, whether they plan to post poetry, publish poetry, talk about poetry, critique poetry, or read poetry. Check it out.

5] Visit Debbie Ridpath Ohi for a laugh. I chose a specific that many of us can relate to: Where the hell is my muse? Sob.

Okay, gang. Happy browsing and writing.

 
14 Comments

Posted by on 24/01/2013 in poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , , , ,

14 responses to “Your Serendipity @ Thursday Thoughts

  1. Veronica Roth

    24/01/2013 at 9:58 am

    Chloe had to do a speech in her public speaking class (CMNS degree second year) Topic was “the words of others”. Having me as a mother to gently guide her in the right direction, she chose this Sarah Key as her speech and made the teacher and six fellow students cry. Good girl! 🙂

     
    • margo roby

      24/01/2013 at 10:00 am

      Fantastic! Isn’t it lovely when we mothers can bask? 🙂

       
  2. Misky

    24/01/2013 at 11:13 am

    I like the 4AM in the morning piece. 🙂

     
    • margo roby

      24/01/2013 at 11:15 am

      Not that we would know anything about that hour ;-), but yes.

       
  3. Music&Meaning

    24/01/2013 at 12:41 pm

    margo: as always, thanks for the link…and rumor has it that the Dragons of Grammar are laboring away over the tea selection, scones, bon-bons, and high spirits…more on this soon! eric

     
  4. Hannah Gosselin

    24/01/2013 at 4:36 pm

    Nice!! Margo…you gathered some goodies for us!! I’m excited for the spoken word performances. Tomorrow afternoon…that’s going to be my eating lunch entertainment! How spoil-y is that?!! 🙂

     
    • margo roby

      25/01/2013 at 7:38 am

      It’s necessary for your health. Your good health = everyone else’s good health ;-).

       
      • Hannah Gosselin

        25/01/2013 at 8:25 am

        I like that… necessitousness, (yes, spell check…that’s a word!), makes it a priority and if I’m tending to my priorities then I’m kinda responsible and that actually sounds sort of grown up…I usually feel like a kid in a grown up body…me a “grown-up?” Naahhh… 😉

         
        • margo roby

          25/01/2013 at 9:16 am

          Really? I mean really? I think your spell check cheats. Remember on airplane flights they always say put on your own oxygen mask first. Don’t worry about the grown=up thing. I have just enough developed that Skip can take me out in public, but that’s about it.

           
          • Hannah Gosselin

            25/01/2013 at 9:55 am

            Ahhahaha!! Laughing…we’d be a wreck in public together then…!

            Yes, a plane flight…that I need to do one day.

            I like that grown=up…how about instead grown=I can eat dessert any stinkin’ time of the day I want!!! Ha…I made a really good blueberry frozen yogurt yesterday!! :)’s to you!!

             
            • margo roby

              25/01/2013 at 10:07 am

              Yes, we would. But what fun, what fun!

              Not necessarily. The fun has been taken out of it. Go up in a hot air balloon [not that I have] and you probably have it.

              Now I’m laughing, a good loud one. Thank you, always.

               
              • Hannah Gosselin

                25/01/2013 at 2:15 pm

                :)!!

                 
                • Hannah Gosselin

                  26/01/2013 at 12:16 pm

                  I’ve heard and loved Sarah Kay before…even more this time!! Those spoken words rocked, Margo!! Thanks again and a happy weekend to you!! 🙂

                   

Join the discussion and feel free to critique, or suggest an idea for any poem I post.