RSS

Prompts Scrum: Friday Freeforall

27 Jan

8:18 a.m. — Atlanta

Hello, all, and a Happy Australia Day. Plus, the weekend approacheth, so let’s go.

Let us start with Donna and visit The Poetry Mixtape where she discusses the poetry of song lyrics, through Simon and Garfunkel’s The Boxer. She suggests we: Try taking some of your favorite song lyrics and relining them as poems. To read her post and example head over. I can tell you, now, that it’s a lot of fun and might be used as a step off for a found poem, or an erasure poem.

Joseph Harker’s Reveries takes us into the land of symbols where he encourages us to frolic. There is, in Joseph.’s words, a first part, a tricky part, a trickier part, and an added challenge. Visit to read about symbolism and what he suggests we do to stretch that writing muscle and to read the responses of the people who have been frolicking already.

Over at dVerse, we are asked: For this week’s Poetics, let’s cross some borders with our pens. The lead-up to this is an interesting discussion of borders and when I think of how full of borders my life is, I find a wealth of material to write about, using borders as a start point. Head over to dVerse and try not to get lost in the ballade form waiting in another room.

This week on Poetic Bloomings Marie Elena and Walt ask us to: Colour My World (and we don’t even care if you stay within the lines!). Head over to read the full prompt and our hosts responses.

At The Sunday Whirl, this week’s words come from Alice Hoffman’s book, The Story Sisters. Visit to see the wordle [40, Brenda!] and to read what others have done. Go crush those ashen sisters and scatter their shards…whoops, sorry, I didn’t manage to come up with a poem. My brain picked this out while I was looking at the wordle, just now.

Carry On Tuesday gives us the title of a musical soliloquy by Peggy Lee. To read the line and for a link to hear Lee sing the song, head over. I stopped for a moment to listen. Lordy, what a warm and lovely voice.

I smile as soon as I see the site next on my list. Go to Mad Kane’s Humor Blog for her Limerick-off Mondays and a lot more besides. Go for the laugh. It’s healthy. It doesn’t much matter if you don’t want to write a limerick; reading them brightens a day. Fact.

Over at Jingle Poetry At The Gooseberry Garden the theme for this week is to try a headline poem. They provide links and images from several New York Times articles. Looking towards next week: no theme! A freeforall, you might say.

Visit Magpie Tales for our image prompt. LOVE the image. At first I was startled, then amused, then intrigued. I have left the site; the image has not left my mind.

Poetry Jam, provides us with a prompt from Dani, this week. She talks about sensual poetry and, as sensory imagery is vital to a poet, it is vital you visit. Were you aware there are other senses? Several other senses? Me either. But it makes sense and opens up sensory imagery to even more possibilities.

For you alliterationists out there, ABC Wednesday is doing something new with their introductions: they are introducing their contributors with a mini-interview. This week is Berowne, whom some of you will have stumbled across in our cybering world. I gave you a link to his blog because he uses many of the prompt sites we do, in a completely different way. Visit him, if you haven’t. Your submission does not have to be written. You can submit a photograph or illustration that fits the letter of the week.

Over at imaginary garden with real toads we get two possibilities with one visit. On Wednesday Kenia introduces us to Turkish poet Nâzım Hikmet. Then, she asks us to write a futuristic poem. Sounds like fun and different, so go over and read what it’s about. Mary’s prompt for Friday not only asks us to try a conversation poem, but gives wonderful examples. Even if you don’t think conversation is your thing [you might be surprised — there are so many ways of approaching it], visit to read the Naomi Shihab Nye poems, especially the second one. Tidbit: When someone recognizes you in a grocery store/nod briefly and become a cabbage. I know!

The three words this week for Three Word Wednesday are bubble, lumber, and wreck. Remember that it’s all about the three words working together. Reading the definitions allows me to see possibilities and connections. Visit the site for their definitions. They have a particularly good source and I often get ideas from the definitions rather than the given words.

We Write Poems titles their prompt, Kissing the Ceiling. I figure that’s enough to get everyone to visit.

At Poets United, our focus is roads. Where to start? Think about it. Roads is huge. For now head over and read the prompt and look at the gorgeous photographs. Oh, and while you are there you can read this week’s interview, if you aren’t up to your eyebrows in things you know about me.

Over at Patricia K. Lichen, Author her Weekend Haiku & Limericks has the usual three options. Despite needing to get this post written and out, I always find myself checking the links for the three options. It might be fun to connect the three in a poem. This week, among other things, we have e-stewards

That should keep you off the streets, busy and writing. If you think anyone else would enjoy these, click on the buttons below. If you have questions, ask. If you write in response to any of these, the people whose blogs you visit would love to read your responses. So, post!

Remember: if you have a topic you want me to discuss, tell me. I’ll take on just about anything and if it’s beyond me, I’ll find sources. What niggles? What have you wanted to ask, or know? If you have an announcement you want posted, send it along for Your Serendipity at Thursday Thoughts.

See you Tuesday for an image prompt; next Thursday for an interview with poet, James Brush, if we get it done in time — if not, we have announcements; and Friday for the next roundup of prompts.

Happy writing, everyone.

 
21 Comments

Posted by on 27/01/2012 in exercises, poetry, writing

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

21 responses to “Prompts Scrum: Friday Freeforall

  1. Mary

    27/01/2012 at 10:46 am

    This is a wonderful summation again, Margo. Thanks for doing this. I always look forward to this post on Friday to see if there is anything that I missed.

    And, folks, DO take a look at Sherry Blue Sky’s interview of Margo on Poets United this week. I learned so much!

     
    • margo roby

      27/01/2012 at 12:43 pm

      Thank you, Mary. I enjoy writing the roundup so much. Thank you for your support!

      margo

       
  2. wordsandthoughtspjs

    27/01/2012 at 12:53 pm

    I just read the interview, Margo. It was wonderful. I know exactly where you live in Atlanta, as I took a computer digitizing course in that area about 15 years ago. Nice area.

    Pamela

     
    • margo roby

      27/01/2012 at 3:06 pm

      It is a nice area, Pamela. It’s one of the reasons we will stay here for as long as Skip can stay at the school.

      m

       
  3. whimsygizmo

    27/01/2012 at 2:19 pm

    ohmyword. I am overjoyed – and a bit overwhelmed – to have so many choices in one spot.
    Some I’ve heard of, some I’ve not…
    Looking forward to exploring, when I get the time. THANK YOU.

     
    • margo roby

      27/01/2012 at 3:07 pm

      You are welcome, whimsy g. I love your reaction. Enjoy the wandering.

      m

       
  4. whimsygizmo

    27/01/2012 at 3:16 pm

    Yay! Whimsy Wordled. 😉
    It had been awhile. My writing group used to throw words in the pot all the time. Nothing better than the way they rub up against each other when you nudge them a bit. Thanks again for the comprehensive list of amazing poeming possibilities. 🙂

     
    • margo roby

      27/01/2012 at 3:24 pm

      Yay, indeed! Listen, Brenda posts the wordles words on Sunday morning and she has a list of us she mails words to Friday night because we are impatient. This is a prompt I try to get posted somewhere near Sunday because I am more likely to go around and look at everyone’s. So, if you want to wordle communally, check in Sunday!

      m

       
  5. Madeleine Begun Kane

    27/01/2012 at 6:37 pm

    Thanks once again for your kind words and for sending your delightful readers my way!

     
    • margo roby

      28/01/2012 at 11:04 am

      Madeleine, your site gives me such joy, I am determined to have my readers make it a stop by!

      margo

       
  6. rosross

    28/01/2012 at 6:23 am

    What a creative feast!

     
    • margo roby

      28/01/2012 at 11:05 am

      It, is fun, isn’t it, Ros? So much out there. I love seeing the sites each week, all the ideas.

      m

       
  7. whimsygizmo

    28/01/2012 at 2:07 pm

    And now I’ve Three Word Wednesday’ed! 🙂 Seriously, margo, THANK YOU for nudging the muse this week. She’s been a lazy, lazy girl as of late (she dreams best on shorelines, and alas, I am hopelessly landlocked for a few more months). Much gratitude.

     
    • margo roby

      28/01/2012 at 3:19 pm

      Oh, I understand, de [I don’t know. I may return to whimsy g :-)]. My muse will disappear without warning. When it does I try to at least wordle.

      While my heart rests with shorelines, my muse, fortunately, is a fickle one, holding no loyalty to place.

      I have written my first tritina. Still have a ways to reach yours! And now, I need to go read your shadormas.

      m

       
      • whimsygizmo

        28/01/2012 at 11:00 pm

        whimsy g is just fine. 😉
        where can i read your tritina? thanks for your comment about mine. it was my first, also. fun form.

         
  8. margo roby

    29/01/2012 at 8:51 am

    Whimsy g 😀 I’ll post my tritina sometime today. Need to give it one more look. Am also writing my first shadormas and will have those posted on the Sunday Whirl soon. I need three more words 🙂

     
  9. whimsygizmo

    30/01/2012 at 8:09 pm

    Joseph Harker is by far one of my favorite poets I’ve “met” at Poetic Asides, so I went on over to try out the Reverie (and found a newer one posted). Whew. I feel like I’ve just done a muse marathon of sorts. Where are the post-race snacks?

     
    • margo roby

      31/01/2012 at 8:03 am

      whimsy g, I have the chapbook he just published and it is well-worth ordering.

      My Friday listings start with the ones who change their posts on Saturday, and then go on in chronological order. I tried to think of a better way, but am not willing to post the roundup twice a week. For now, hit the first few on my list first, if you haven’t gotten to them already.

      Now, let’s see, cashews?

       
      • whimsygizmo

        31/01/2012 at 10:52 am

        Add a few dark chocolate chips to the cashews, and you’ve got a deal. 😉
        My “Whew” was for having completed my first Reverie (super challenging), certainly not a statement about your amazing offerings. This list has revolutionized my whole writing world, and I’ve subscribed to many of the sites now. THANK YOU. 🙂

         
        • margo roby

          31/01/2012 at 11:29 am

          Deal! Congratulations on the Reverie. I need to tackle this week’s. My brain is avoiding it. Not sure why.

          When you’re in too much of a rush to read those emails, I’ll be here with the list 😉 I’m so glad you have discovered so many new sites.

          margo

           

Join the discussion and feel free to critique, or suggest an idea for any poem I post.